Who is Telling the Truth?

Lynn Bridge in here archival gear

My white cotton gloves and my sweat-soaking headband are necessary to protect my 1890 newspaper!

Here is what I found in one old newspaper clipping:  (I put in elipses where there were holes in the newspaper.)

El Paso, Texas Herald, April 13, 1890

As Stated in Court.

Statement Made by Doc Bolton and J. W. Clayton in the Mexican Court.

… the Juarez court… ation of J….ton will not…for about…onger, but the substance… mination is as follows:  In the first place it is Senor Jose N. Pastran, the district judge of Juarez, who has charge of the case, he is the same judge who has been trying the three Americans for the murder of a woman in Juarez last summer.  He occupies about the same position as our county judge, and is allowed three days to hold the prisoners in separate confinement without allowing anyone to speak to them, in which length of time they are examined separately and have no chance to get up a story.  In this particular, a prominent  American lawyer stated a few days ago that the Mexican law is way ahead of ours.  Bolton and Clayton were examined in this way and their stories conflict.  A gentleman who was present states that Clayton’s testimony is as follows:  “I was standing on the sidewalk alone and Cavitt came up to me and said, ‘You followed me over here to do me up.’  I said I did not, on which Cavitt grabbed me by the coat and I pushed him back with my hand.  He reached to pull his pistol.  At this instant Bolton came up and seeing the trouble he opened fire on Cavitt, who returned it, and the shooting became general.”  Bolton’s statement is about as follows:  “I was standing with Clayton on the sidewalk when Cavitt came along and I accused him of making a compromise in his lawsuit (which he had previously agreed with me not to do alone).  He told me I lied, I told him he was lying to me, on which he stepped back and pulled his pistol and fired, we then shot at him and he staggered back up the sidewalk and fell in the alley.”  According to the witnesses Cavitt had a cane in one hand and a cigarette in the other, these he had in his hands when he fell.  Dr. Samienego… the cane out of his hand when he…dead, his pistol was found stuck, not in the pocket, but in the waistband of his pants over his left hip with all the cartridges complete only one chamber being empty where the hammer rested, it had no empty shell and the pistol did not have any powder smell; it had not been used for some time.  Both Clayton and Bolton were arrested and sixteen dollars in cash were found on Bolton, with five notes, viz: three of $3000 each and two of $2000 each, making $11,000 all told.  These notes he has carried round with him for some time, they are drawn on the Corrallitas Cattle Company, and will not be due for about three months yet and they would have to be signed by Bolton before they could be cashed.  The officer in charge of the jail has charge of them and they will be returned at the proper time.  Clayton had no money on him.

Three different stories.  Hmmm…… some things never change!

